ECTS Credit System

The European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) was developed by the European Commission and serves as a tool that helps to design, describe, and deliver study programmes and award higher education qualifications. By making higher education comparable across Europe, ECTS makes teaching and learning in higher education more transparent and facilitates the recognition of all studies. ECTS is a learner-centred system for credit accumulation and transfer based on the transparency of learning outcomes and learning processes.

ECTS has been introduced in Lithuanian higher education institutions since 2011. All courses are measured in ECTS credits which are based on student workload typically needed to complete all learning activities (such as lectures, seminars, projects, practical work, self-study and examinations) required to achieve the expected learning outcomes (i.e. what students are expected to know, understand and be able to do after successful completion of a process of learning).

  • 60 ECTS credits correspond to the workload of one full-time academic year, i.e. about 1600 hours of student work.
  • 30 ECTS credits correspond to one semester.
  • 1 ECTS credit corresponds to 25-30 hours of student work.

For more information: